8 local Southern Leyte roads now converted into national highways

ROAD CONVERSION. DPWH-SLDEO District Engineer Manolo Rojas witnessed the signing of the department order by Secretary Roger Mercado converting eight local Southern Leyte roads into national roads.

MAASIN CITY – The Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) recently approved the conversion of eight local roads into national roads under the jurisdiction of Southern Leyte district engineering office.

The converted local roads are Asuncion, Maasin City – Buenavista, Bontoc – Bdry. Hilongos Road (Maasin-Bontoc); Maujo, Malitbog – Bagtican, Maasin City Road (Maasin-Malitbog); Bil-atan, San Ricardo – San Roque, Liloan Road; Mahayahay, Saint Bernard – Badiangon, Hinunangan Road; Ichon, Macrohon – Sangahon, Malitbog Road; San Isidro, Tomas Oppus – Libertad, Maasin City Road; Tunga-Tunga – Matin-ao – Cansirong Road; and Sto. Rosario – Guadalupe – Panan-awan Road.

The conversion of these road segments was effected through DPWH Department Order No. 109, signed by Secretary Roger G. Mercado on November 25, 2021.

The provincial government of Southern Leyte pushed for the conversion of these roads to spur economic development and opportunities in rural communities. Also, by converting these local roads into national road, the responsibility for the maintenance thereof is transferred to the national government through the DPWH. With paved and duly maintained road network, commerce and trade would be enhanced.

“I’m honored to be part of this milestone for our beloved province. With the recent promulgation, the people of Southern Leyte can look forward to improved accessibility and reduced travel time, leading to enhanced productivity in the province,” said District Engineer Manolo Rojas. (PR/FMMT)

Reports by: Franchette May Tolibas

About Dahlia Orit 348 Articles
Your journalist/blogger from Maasin City

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.